Apr 18 2014


Category: UncategorizedThomas @ 12:57 am

Erris United U18′s will player their league final V Claremorris on this  Monday  the 21st April in Milebush Park with 12 noon kick-off.

Apr 13 2014


Category: UncategorizedThomas @ 7:04 pm

Seamus O'Malley, great opening effort on 55 minutes for Erris B

It was smiles all- round as Iorras Aontaithe (B) got their new season in Premier (B) off on a 2-nil away win to Castlebar Celtic (C) on Sunday 13th April. It was 0-0 at the break but in the second half Erris B upped their game and on 55 minutes Seamus O’Malley scored with an excellent effort from all of 40 yards.

Jamie Flannery, made it two for Iorras B with an excellent first senior goal on 89 minutes.

Then as the clock was ticking down, Jamie Flannery scored his first senior goal for the Club with another excellent individual effort, receiving the ball just inside his own area and scoring after completing a great run to the corner of the net. On another point of note, Erris Keeper Phelim Munnelly was excellent between the sticks. Final score: Castlebar Celtic C 0 Erris United B 2

Apr 12 2014


Category: UncategorizedThomas @ 9:49 am

Wow. The football season is back and Erris Under 13 kicked off the campaign away to Ballyglass.

Erris United U13

The joy was immense among these young men to be out on a pitch again in the Red and Black and having fun, fun, fun. Two debutants made a huge impact with Man of the Match Luke McWilliams in goal and Dara Padden scoring a screamer from 15 yards. Shea O’Donoghue scored a second goal with a very clever free kick. Matthew Walsh nearly got the goal he deserved but hit the post as the opposition scrambled it clear, (again).17 players got a run with everyone giving their all and managers Harry and Des could not be prouder. Oh, by the way, not that it matters but unfortunately Ballyglass scored 3 times, while we only scored twice. We did enjoy it though, we were grateful that we were able to play, and we can’t wait to get the chance to do it all again.

Apr 10 2014


Category: UncategorizedThomas @ 2:48 pm

Erris United/Iorras Aontaithe Soccer Club is delighted to announce that their Annual National School Soccer Tournament will this year take place on Wednesday 4th June 2014 at Carne Nash pitch.
The Club is very grateful to our sponsors for this event. O’Donoghues Bakery and An Builin Blasta.
Registration on the day at 10.30 for kick off at 11 (sharp), teams of 7, boys and girls mixed, etc, etc. The whole event usually lasts around two hours.


Apr 07 2014


Category: UncategorizedThomas @ 7:24 pm

A very unique fundraising event will be held in Church Road Belmullet on Easter Saturday April 19th at 5.30pm. Local Mayo League Soccer Club Iorras Aontaithe will release 2000 numbered balls down Church Road towards the square; this fundraising event is the first time that this will be seen in Erris. The first 10 balls collected in the tube at the bottom will receive a prize, and they are: 1st prize PS4
2nd prize €100
3rd prize €50
4th prize €30
5th prize €20
6th to 10th prize Easter egg
Balls are available to buy from Iorras Aontaithe members or from local shops for €3 each or 2 balls for €5 the event is sponsored by Munnelly Carpentry.

Apr 07 2014


Category: UncategorizedThomas @ 7:19 pm

Back in 2004 Ireland was certainly in a different place to where it is now, both economically, socially and politically. In Erris, Mayo league soccer Club Erris United were making football history by winning the FAI Youth Cup for the first time beating Letterkenny Rovers at a packed Milebush Park in Castlebar on April 11th. The record breaking achievement certainly broke the mold in Connacht and Mayo Youth Soccer, been the first club to do so and still the only football club in Erris to have the unique distinction of having an All-Ireland title on its books. A reunion of this record breaking panel of Players and Management will be held in the Clann Lir Bar in Belmullet on next Saturday the 19th April. A documentary will be screened on the evening recalling that great time and money raised will go to Iorras Aontaithe youth development.

Apr 04 2014


Category: UncategorizedThomas @ 4:55 pm

Iorras Aontaithe begin their Mayo Soccer season on Sunday 13th April with the Super League side at home to Fahy Rovers with a 2.30pm  kick-off. In the Premier Division (B), Iorras Aontaithe (B) are away to Castlebar Celtic (C) also with 2.30pm kick-off. Both outfits will be looking to improve on last season league table positions. Both panels are wished good luck in the season ahead.

Apr 03 2014


Category: UncategorizedThomas @ 8:34 pm

A big thank you to all who contributed/supported the Club Church gate Collections recently, to the Club members for there assistants with helping out on the days.

Mar 31 2014


Category: UncategorizedThomas @ 11:59 am

Congratulations to former Club Youth member Gary Boylan on securing his first International cap for the Rep. of Ireland when he was included in the starting eleven against England recently.

Former Iorras Youth Gary Boylan securing his first cap for the Rep. of Ireland at School Boy level V England.

THE Republic of Ireland Schools international side came back from 3-1 down in the final eight minutes to secure a memorable 3-3 draw with England at Bristol City’s Ashton Gate. Gary played at center-half and was delighted with the experience. Gary is currently with League of Ireland side, Sligo Rovers.

Mar 24 2014


Category: UncategorizedThomas @ 8:21 pm

Erris United U18 get back to Cup action again this time in the Connaught Cup semi-final against Salthill Deven of Galway on  Saturday the 12th April at Carne Nash Park. The kick-off is at 2pm and its expected that a good turn-out of support will be there to support the young players.



Next Page »